European Commission clarifies labelling requirements allergens
The European Commission has provided further information about the labelling of allergens on the packaging of food products. A notable statement is for example that voluntary repetition of allergens outside the list of ingredients is not allowed, also not by using the word ‘contains’ followed by the name of the allergen.
Additionally, where an ingredient like ‘spelt’ is listed, a clear reference to the specific type of the cereal, i.e. ‘wheat’ is required. The use of the term gluten is allowed, for example ‘wheat (contains gluten)’. Where gluten is added as such, as an ingredient, the type of the cereal the gluten is coming from has to be indicated (Newsletter Waar&Wet, 19 December 2017).
Click here for the Commission Notice about these labelling requirements.
This news item is also included in our monthly overview, the NVC Members-only Update. If you have any questions, please contact us: firstname.lastname@example.org, +31-(0)182-512411.