CA: New Labelling for “Gluten-Free” Specially Produced Oats

02 December 2014

Health Canada is intending to allow the use of “gluten-free” claims on specially produced oats and foods containing these oats when sold in Canada. Health Canada will consult with the public and stakeholders for a 75-day period before the Minister issues a final Marketing Authorization to allow this claim. Consultation ends 27 January 2015.
This proposed change is based on an extensive review of scientific literature and evidence, which shows that most people with celiac disease can safely eat foods made from specially produced oats that contain levels not exceeding 20 parts per million of gluten from wheat, rye, barley or their hybridized strains (Nutrition Insight, 18 November 2014).
Click here for the full article.
Click here for the Proposed Marketing Authorization to allow gluten-free claims for specially produced "gluten-free oats".

This item is also included in our monthly overview, the NVC Members-only Update. If you have any questions, please contact us:, +31-(0)182-512411.